Thankful On a Monday

I have been trying to create a new daily habit of thankfulness, of counting my blessings and thanking God for what I DO have… Because it’s altogether too easy to remember only what I DON’T have. 

So today I am thankful for my husband who gets up in the morning with me and makes the perfect pour-over cup of coffee for me while I waste five, 10, 15 or more minutes trying to figure out what in the world to wear. I can’t stay angry at my seemingly dismal closet offerings when the smell of coffee drags me out into the kitchen and morning happiness.

Today I’m thankful for my beater car that gets me through rush hour every day with completely mediocre and sub-par speakers that usually cackle out some hilarious waste-of-time radio show when NPR gets too sad for the morning commute. 

Today I am thankful for God’s Word. There is no answer, no encouragement, no solace that compares to what I have found in His Word. Day day after day, my soul is healed over by His promises. 

Today I’m thankful for floss. (For reals.) Because for some reason I keep buying blueberries and I keep eating blueberries and I keep getting the blueberry seeds stuck in my teeth. (Read: It’s a Monday.) 

Today I am thankful for brave people. It can feel overwhelming to attempt courage in a society that is heaving and bloating under the weight of so many issues. Yet, everyday I am encouraged at the efforts of people around me who are putting their convictions and beliefs into action… Like my sweet friend Katie who created this beautiful print and is donating 100% of her proceeds to World Relief. 

Every day something is beautiful. And everyday something is ugly. As I am trying to learn this habit of being thankful, I’m finding that the ugly often gives us a reason to be beautiful. Ugly doesn’t have to stay ugly, friend. 

Seeds in the teeth? Ugly. Floss? Beautiful. 

Trash on the side of the road = ugly. A volunteer stopping to pick it up = beauty. 

You get the idea. 

A country in disarray might look ugly right now. But people stepping up in love to help out a neighbor, speak words of kindness, give of resources and talents to help the less fortunate is beautiful. 

So today, I’m also thankful for all kinds of ugly because it gives beautiful the chance to rise to the challenge. 

And oh, I pray we might find bravery inside each of our bodies and souls to rise, to discover the beauty within us and courageously share it with the ugly world around us.

Leave a Reply

